ipsy April 2015 Glam Bag

ipsy April 2015 Glam Bag Review

ipsy April 2015 Glam Bag

Back in the beginning of this month we published a post full of ipsy April 2015 Glam Bag sneak peeks. After seeing how many ipsy subscribers there are among us, as well as the many who have long been interested in the monthly subscription makeup bag but haven’t subscribed, we thought it would be a great idea to start reviewing our glam bag every month. We sure picked the perfect month to start doing this because the April 2015 bag was definitely a winner — at least for us.

Check out the products we received, what we thought, and if you’re an ipsy subscriber tell us what you thought of this month’s bag in the comments!

theBalm Nude Dude eyeshadow

theBalm Nude Dude eyeshadow open

theBalm NUDE Dude Eyeshadow Single: This is the one product that all ipsy subscribers knew they would be finding in their April 2015 Glam Bags. Already lauded as an ipsy fan favorite, we can now confidently join the ranks of beauty lovers fawning over them. As mentioned in our sneak peeks post, the Fit shade was on our wishlist and that’s exactly what we found nestled in our bag. Are they psychics over there at ipsy?

The NUDE Dude eyeshadows are extremely versatile. They can be worn alone for a natural look or layered for intensity. I’ve worn it both ways and it’s stunning either way. The Fit shade matches my skin tone so that it simply adds a little pop and sparkle to make my eyes stand out. After using this one shade, the entire NUDE Dude eyeshadow palette is on my personal beauty wishlist. Oh the fun that could be had with these shadows. They can also be transformed into loyal liners by adding water.

Klorane dry shampoo

Klorane Dry Shampoo: I wasn’t usually a big fan of dry shampoos up until a couple of years ago. As I’ve gotten older and begun experiencing the lovely side effects of the aging process, in particular my once voluminous head of hair beginning to thin over time, I’ve gone through an adjustment period in how I care for my hair. The biggest and most profoundly helpful change I have made is to stop washing it so much. In an effort to keep my hair on my head where it belongs, I only wash my hair with water, shampoo, and conditioner three times a week, and I use a hair mask every other week to lock in moisture. If my hair begins to look a little oily in between washes, I’ll reach for the dry shampoo.

Up until this month I had been using another brand of dry shampoo that has suited me perfectly fine. Or so I thought. After I tried the Klorane dry shampoo, I realized I had no idea what I had been missing.

The award-winning dry shampoo has been a bestseller for over 40 years — and I only heard about it this month. Boasted as being the original and best dry shampoo, Klorane uses a combination of plant-based ingredients to absorb excess oil and leave hair feeling and looking clean and volumized. Even better, they have a product for every hair type, from normal to oily hair. I received the gentle formula dry shampoo with oat milk for brown to dark hair, and it works wonders on my hair in between washes.

JulieG nail polish

JulieG Nail Color: I always love getting nail polishes in my Glam Bags. It’s always a little bonus treat I wasn’t expecting and this month was no exception.

I love having freshly polished nails. I always make it a point to theme my nail color to any important events or get-togethers, and painting my nails is a fool-proof stress reliever for me. With back-to-back doctors appointments this past month, my nails have been so many different colors — including this lovely shade of hot pink from JulieG. It is a perfect shade for the season, and my nails will undoubtedly be dressed in this throughout the summer months!

Aromachology Sophisticated & Sensual fragrance

Aromachology Sophisticated & Sensual Fragrance: I have never received a fragrance in my ipsy Glam Bag before this month, and could not be happier with this fragrance.

This scent is everything its name suggests, and has quickly become my daily go-to fragrance. It is light and fresh without being overpowering, even after you’ve just put it on, and it lasts all day. The roller ball makes application a breeze, and you can carry it along in your daily makeup bag for last-minute and late-night touchups.

Too Faced Melted lipstick

Too Faced Melted lipstick open

Too Faced Melted lipstick swatch

Too Faced Melted Liquified Long Wear Lipstick: Pretty much every ipster who saw the April sneak peek images was commenting about how badly they needed the Too Faced Melted Lipstick in their life, and I am beyond thrilled that I ended up with one. In fact, this is my absolute favorite product from this month’s Glam Bag.

Promising the staying power of a stain and the intense color of a liquid lipstick in one long-wear formula, Too Faced hit it out of the park with their Melted collection. I received the Melted Peony shade, which was a perfect match for my skin tone and really brought the “Beautifully Bohemian” theme of this month’s bag to life for me. The best thing about it is that it doesn’t need to be constantly touched up like a lot of other lip colors I have been using. I have been able to wear the Melted Lipstick for an entire day with just one touch-up needed. That includes eating and drinking, being the bonafide motor mouth that I am, and generally just living life — all without having to worry about my lip color smearing, cracking, or wearing off. Even at a $21 price point, this lipstick is beyond worth it.

Truly delving into the “Beautifully Bohemian” theme of this month’s ipsy Glam Bag, I used all the products in my bag (minus the nail color you wouldn’t be able to see in this shot anyway) to put together one look.

Honestly, this was my best makeup day ever. Thank you, ipsy!

If you aren’t an ipsy subscriber, you can get your monthly Glam Bag filled with deluxe samples and full-size beauty products for $10/month (+ $4.95 shipping in Canada).

If you are a subscriber, which products in the ipsy April 2015 Glam Bag were the biggest hit for you?

This post contains affiliate links. All opinions are my own and I purchase my own ipsy subscription every month.

12 thoughts on “ipsy April 2015 Glam Bag Review”

  1. What gorgeous products you received! I love subscription boxes, but don’t get any beauty ones. In your opinion, is this a good place to start?

    1. I honestly can’t recommend ipsy enough. I was an ipsy subscriber for 6 months before ever posting about them here or sharing my bags. I took a break from them for a few months and then resubscribed in March and am so glad I did. I never subscribed to any of their competitors like Birchbox before, but a lot of my friends have and I think you get more for less money with ipsy. It’s $10/month and when I price all the products I receive in each bag, I definitely see the value.

  2. Seeing everything in that bag makes me want to have one too. The nail polish looked cute too. Just perfect when hanging out on the mall with friends or family.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *